1. News & Issues

Oregon Gun Rights

An Overview of Gun Laws in Oregon

By

Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?

Yes. The people shall have the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of themselves and the state, but the military shall be kept in strict subordination to the civil power.

Concealed Carry

Oregon is a shall-issue state, meaning authorities are required to issue carry permits to all qualified applicants. Qualified applicants must be at least 21 years of age, successfully demonstrate competence with a firearm after completing a state-certified safety course, and undergo a criminal background check.

Oregon law restricting gun permits is more restrictive than most other shall-issue states. In addition to the standard list of persons who are refused a permit in Oregon — including anyone who is a convicted felon, who is awaiting trial on felony charges, who has been declared mentally incompetent, who is a fugitive from justice or who has had an order of protection issued against him, the state also refuses permits to anyone who has been convicted of any misdemeanor within the past four years.

Permits are issued through local sheriff’s offices and are valid for four years, at an initial cost of $65.

States honoring Oregon’s carry permits include: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Vermont.

Oregon does not honor permits issued by any other state.

Castle Doctrine

Oregon has a self-defense law based on the castle doctrine. The law includes a “stand your ground” clause, meaning crime victims do not have a duty to retreat before using physical or deadly force under the guidelines of the law. Deadly force is permissible when a victim reasonably believes that another person is about to use deadly force against him.

Pro-Gun Provisions

Open carry is generally permissible in Oregon. The state has a preemption law that prevents cities and counties from enacting gun laws that are more restrictive than state law, as well as a range protection law for gun firing ranges.

Restrictions

  • Gun bans: None.
  • Waiting period for gun purchases: None.
  • Licenses or permits required to purchase guns: None.
  • Registration of guns required? No.
  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Civil Liberties
  4. Issues and Causes
  5. Gun Rights
  6. Oregon Gun Rights - An Overview of Gun Laws in Oregon

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.