Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. That the right of every citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person and property, or when lawfully summoned in aid of the civil power, shall not be questioned; but this shall not justify the wearing of concealed weapons.’’
Missouri is a “shall-issue” state, meaning concealed carry permits must be issued to all qualified applicants. Permits are issued by local sheriff’s departments within 45 days. They are valid for three years at a cost of $100 (renewals cost $50). Missouri requires that applicants be a resident of the state for six months before receiving a carry permit. Missouri residents also must be older to apply for a permit than in most states; 23 is the minimum age in Missouri.
Missouri does not issue permits to persons banned from gun possession under federal law, such as convicted felons or fugitives from justice and the mentally ill. Also prohibited from receiving a concealed carry permit in Missouri are persons who have been convicted of misdemeanors involving violence within the past five years, persons convicted of more than one DUI within the past five years, persons who are habitually in a drugged or intoxicated conditions, persons who have been dishonorably discharged from the military and anyone who the sheriff reasonably believes is a danger to himself or others.
Missouri’s permits are honored by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Missouri honors permits from the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.
Missouri is a castle doctrine state with a “stand-your-ground” law. The state enacted a castle law in 2007 that removed the duty to retreat for persons who are attacked within their home or vehicle. The new law justifies the use of deadly force when victims reasonably believe their lives to be in danger, and provides them immunity from civil and criminal action.
Open carry is permitted in Missouri. Additionally, anyone over the age of 21 is permitted to carry a handgun concealed in the glove compartment of their vehicle.
Missouri has a preemption law that prohibits municipal and county governments from enacting gun laws that are more restrictive than state law and a range protection law that protects gun ranges.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: None.
License or permit required to purchase guns: None
Registration of guns: None.
Places in Missouri where carrying is prohibited, with or without a permit:
- Law enforcement offices
- Correctional facilities
- Polling places
- Government buildings
- Government meeting places
- Schools and colleges
- Childcare facilities
- Amusement parks
- Arenas and stadiums with seating for more than 5,000
- Posted private property