Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. The right of the citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and the state shall not be denied.
Wyoming is a shall-issue state, meaning authorities are required by law to issue carry permits to all qualified applicants. To qualify, applicants must be at least 21 years old and have lived in Wyoming for at least six months prior to applying. Persons must also be able to demonstrate familiarity with a handgun by completing a certified firearm training course and not have a physical disability that prevents safe handling of a firearm.
People who are denied permits in Wyoming include anyone who has been convicted of a felony or is otherwise ineligible to own a firearm due to state and federal law, as well as anyone who has been committed for drug abuse or who chronically uses alcohol. Anyone who has been judged legally incompetent or committed to a mental institution is also denied a permit.
Permits are issued by the state attorney general within 90 days of the date of application. The cost is $74. The permits are valid for five years.
Wyoming’s carry permits are honored by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Wyoming honors permits from the states of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Wyoming has a self-defense law based on the castle doctrine, and is a “stand your ground” state. However, the stand your ground provision only applies when persons are within their own home. The law does not excuse crime victims from a duty to retreat outside the home.
Under Wyoming’s law, deadly force is justified when a person has a reasonable fear of death or serious bodily injury due to the actions of an intruder. The law provides criminal and civil immunity to persons who use deadly force under those circumstances.
Open carry is generally permissible in Wyoming. Anyone who meets the requirements to obtain a concealed carry permit can legally carry a firearm in any place where firearms are not specifically prohibited.
In addition to a state constitutional provision granting citizens the right to bear arms, Wyoming has a preemption law that prevents cities or counties from enacting gun laws that are more restrictive than state law, as well as a law that extends protection to gun firing ranges.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: None.
License or permit to purchase guns: None.
Registration of guns: None.
Places in Wyoming where it is illegal to carry a gun include:
- Law enforcement facilities
- Government meetings
- Professional athletic events
- Establishments where the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption is the primary business