Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. Every citizen has the right to keep and bear arms for security and defense, for lawful hunting and recreational use and for other lawful purposes.”
Nevada is a shall-issue state, meaning concealed carry permits must be issued to qualified applicants. Permits are issued by local law enforcement agencies at a cost of $105 and are valid for five years. Unlike most states, Nevada requires permit holders to list each gun they intend to carry on the permit and qualify with those guns. The requirement excludes revolvers, which do not have to be listed individually. A handgun safety course is required, along with a background check, before permits can be issued.
Nevada does not issue permits to anyone under the age of 21, anyone who is barred from owning a gun under federal law, such as convicted felons, anyone who has habitually used alcohol or drugs within the past five years, anyone who has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving the use of force or violence within the past three years, or anyone convicted of domestic violence crimes who is still on probation.
Nevada’s concealed carry permits are honored by: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont and West Virginia.
Nevada honors firearms from the following states: Alaska, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee and West Virginia.
Nevada does not have a castle law, per se, despite multiple attempts by state legislators to enact such a law. However, the state does not require a duty to retreat by crime victims and allows for the use of deadly force in some circumstances.
For physical or deadly force to be justified in Nevada, a person must believe that his life or safety, or the life or safety of another, is in jeopardy. He also must use no more force than is necessary to subdue the attacker.
Open carry is not restricted in Nevada, except for inside a vehicle, where guns must be unloaded. While some locales have passed laws restricting open carry, Nevada has a preemption law that prevents those laws from superseding state law.
Nevada also has a range law that protects gun ranges.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: None statewide. However, certain municipalities have a waiting period for handgun purchases.
License or permit required to purchase guns: None.
Registration of guns: None statewide. However, certain municipalities require the registration of handguns. In Clark County, for example, handguns must be registered within 72 hours by anyone who resides within the city for more than 60 days.
Places in Nevada where carrying is prohibited, with or without a permit:
- Public schools or colleges
- Any public building with a metal detector at its entrance, such as courtrooms