Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. The right of every citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall not be called in question, but the legislature may regulate or forbid carrying concealed weapons.
Mississippi is a “shall-issue” state, meaning concealed carry permits must be issued to all qualified applicants. Permits are issued by the Mississippi Highway Patrol within 45 days. They are valid for five years at a cost of $132. Unlike many other states, Mississippi requires that applicants be a resident of the state for at least 12 months before receiving a carry permit. Exceptions are persons who have a permit in another state and are moving to Mississippi, active military personnel or retired law enforcement officers seeking residency in the state. Applicants must be at least 21 years old.
Mississippi does not issue permits to persons banned from gun possession under federal law, such as convicted felons or fugitives from justice and the mentally ill. Also prohibited from receiving a concealed carry permit in Mississippi are persons who abuse drugs or alcohol, have a physical condition that hinders the safe handling of a gun and anyone who has been convicted of a violent misdemeanor within the past three years.
Mississippi’s carry permits are honored by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Mississippi honors permits from the states of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Mississippi has a castle law with a “stand-your-ground” clause. The state’s statute justifies the use of deadly force to prevent a felony from being committed against a person, including the defense of himself and his home or the defense of another person.
The state’s statute states, in part:
(1) The killing of a human being by the act, procurement, or omission of another shall be justifiable in the following cases:
(e) When committed by any person in resisting any attempt unlawfully to kill such person or to commit any felony upon him, or upon or in any dwelling house in which such person shall be;
(f) When committed in the lawful defense of one's own person or any other human being, where there shall be reasonable ground to apprehend a design to commit a felony or to do some great personal injury, and there shall be imminent danger of such design being accomplished;
Mississippi’s gun laws are among the nation’s laxest. Carrying openly is permissible in many cases in Mississippi. The state also has a workplace protection law for employees who have guns stored in a vehicle parked at their place of employment, a preemption law that prevents county or municipal governments from enacting gun laws that are more restrictive than state law, and a range protection law that provides protection for gun ranges.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: None.
License or permit required to purchase guns: None
Registration of guns: None.
Places in Mississippi where carrying is prohibited, with or without a permit:
- Jails and police stations
- Polling places
- Government meeting places
- Public parks
- Schools or colleges
- Professional athletic events
- Parades or demonstrations
- Any establishment that’s primary purpose is the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption
- Any private establishment that posts signs prohibiting guns
Additional Provisions or Restrictions
While state law prohibits anyone from carrying a handgun, or long gun with a barrel shorter than 16 inches, concealed without a permit to carry, the statute provides for mail carriers who are on the job, persons who feel threatened, active-duty military personnel, or anyone transporting valuables or cash for a bank or other business to use those arguments in their defense if they’re indicted for carrying a weapon without a permit.