Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. The right of each citizen to keep and bear arms shall not be abridged, but this provision shall not prevent the passage of laws to prohibit the carrying of weapons concealed on the person.
Louisiana is a shall-issue state, meaning officials must issue a concealed carry permit to qualified applicants. The application fee is $100 for a four-year permit or $50 for a two-year permit. Persons who have not been residents of Louisiana for the past 15 years must add $50 to the permit application fee. To qualify for a permit, applicants must complete a firearms training course and undergo a background check.
Persons barred from being issued a carry permit in Louisiana include anyone convicted of a felony or under indictment for a felony offense, persons who have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence within the past five years or who have “a history of violence,” persons who have been convicted of a drug-related offense within the past five years, persons who “chronically and habitually” consume alcohol and persons who suffer from a mental or physical illness that prevents the safe handling of a firearm.
States that honor Louisiana’s carry permits include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Louisiana honors permits from each of those same states, with the exceptions of New Mexico and Vermont. Louisiana also does not honor permits from Iowa.
Louisiana’s castle law permits the use of physical force to protect one’s self and property from “forcible crimes” and the use of deadly force in situations where circumstances are sufficient “to excite the fear of a reasonable person that there would be serious danger to his own life or person if he attempted to prevent the felony without the killing.” The statute has a “stand your ground” clause in that it does not require victims to retreat before using force, whether they’re inside their home or any other place they have a right to be.
Louisiana has a workplace protection law that prohibits employers from firing workers who have a gun stored in a vehicle parked at the workplace, as well as a law protecting firing ranges and a preemption law that prohibits county and municipal governments from enacting gun laws more restrictive than state law.
Open carry is permissible in Louisiana.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: No.
License or permit to purchase guns: No.
Registration of guns: No.
Places in Louisiana where firearms cannot be carried, with or without a permit, include:
- Parades or demonstrations
- Places that serve alcohol