Constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms?
Yes. The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be tolerated, and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power.
Kansas is a shall-issue state. Local officials are required to issue concealed carry permits to qualified applicants. The process is handled through local sheriff’s departments. The permits are issued by the state attorney general’s office and are valid for four years. Permits cost up to $150 and can take up to 180 days to receive.
Obtaining a permit requires applicants to undergo a background check and complete a handgun training course. In addition to the typical reasons for declining permits — such felony convictions or dishonorable discharge from the military — Kansas does not issue permits to applicants who have been convicted of two or more DUI offenses or who have been convicted on certain drug-related charges.
States recognizing Kansas’s concealed carry permits include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Vermont.
States whose permits Kansas honors include each of the above, with the exceptions of Iowa and South Dakota.
Kansas has a castle law. The law allows persons who feel threatened within their home or anywhere they have a right to be to use physical or deadly force if necessary. Under the Kansas law, citizens do not have a duty to retreat when threatened and can “stand their ground.” The law provides civil immunity for anyone deemed to have been acting in self-defense when using force against criminal perpetrators.
Open carry is permitted in Kansas, with no permit required.
Kansas has a workplace protection law to prohibit employers from firing employees who have a gun stored in a vehicle that is parked at the place of employment. The state also has a law protecting firing ranges. A firearms preemption law prohibits local governments in Kansas from enacting gun laws that are stricter than the state law.
Gun bans: None.
Waiting periods for gun purchases: No.
License or permit to purchase guns: No.
Registration of guns: No.
Places in Kansas where firearms cannot be carried, with or without a permit, include:
- Law enforcement facilities
- Election polling places
- Meeting places of any governing board or body
- State fairgrounds
- Athletic events
- Places that serve alcohol (except restaurants)
- State office buildings
- City halls
- Public libraries
- Child daycare centers